Louis Gerin and Gregory Lamaud

AS A NEEDLE AND A THREAD

Born in 1982, Louis and Grégory met in 2000 at ESMOD. Graduating with honors, Jean Charles De Castelbajac will crown them of the “Aiguille d’or”. They associated their dreams : men’s prêt-à-porter for Grégory, Haute Couture for Louis, and created their brand : “Les Garçons”. They draw, conceive, produce and commercialize lingerie, home wear and sportswear for men. Other aspects of their talent : they assure the role of Art Directors for the Messe Frankfurt Group and the Texworld fair. Recognized for their sensibility to trends forecast, they animate conferences and trend tables in Paris, Bangkok, Frankfort and New york City.

In 2012, Louis and Grégory (re)launched “Les Garçons”. The brand distinguishes itself by the leitmotiv: The reinterpretation of the Classics. The pieces of lingerie or home wear  are surprisingly simple but aesthetically refined and luxuriously comfortable.

The creations by “Les Garçons” are balanced between tradition and modernity. Louis and Grégory have been the first to re-introduce lace, ancient royalty fabric, in the men’s wardrobe. They also follow the historic association of the underwear and the shirt. Their creativity gave birth to a product since then copied : the boxer shorts “cut and sewed without a stitch”.

“There is in France, a “savoir-faire” that is at risk; it needs to be saved. We do not wish to revolutionize fashion; we have too much respect for it’s story. We want to bring, without imposing it, a new point of view. We can’t accept, that because of the economy, our culture disappears.”

To guarantee the comfort of the lingerie and home wear products, Louis and Grégory travel the world to seek out the best quality textile.

High technology synthetic fiber for the swimwear, modal and silk for the lingerie, these are the kind of quality fabrics used by “Les Garçons”. The suppliers are based in France, Belgium, Portugal, Italy and China. Each detail, each fabric is important and most of the developments are exclusive.

“We deplore the departure of the “savor-faire” towards foreign countries and we hope that one day, we’ll be a part of their re-implantation. We will never compromise on the quality of our products. Our clients are close to our products for the quality and not for the signature. It’s for that reason that we refuse to Logotize ostentatiously our creations.”

Louis and Grégory created in 2009, the Trends Bureau “2G2L Fashion Design And Consulting”, and have become the youngest Art Directors of the Messe Frankfurt Group. For the past few years, they have been and still are the eyes of the aesthetic of Texworld Paris Trade Fair.

The creativity and the discipline of “Les Garçons”, brought them into the European and World wide textile market. They bring this expertise also as trendsetters : development of Trends Books, Conferences, Trend Tables, for the Paris and New York Texworld Trade fairs, Heimtextile in Frankfurt. They follow other European or Asian brands : Product development or brand image, photo shoot art direction, event organization and concept stores.

“We want to boost the trade shows images, give them a glamorous touch. Our work consist in offering a personality to these events. And at the same time, it’s a little of ourselves that we give”

Their outspokenness gave “Les Garçons” the opportunity to create the collective “Fre(n)sh Fashion Committee”. Regrouping Brands, created to accompany young designers in their approach, under the influence of “Les Garçons”. It became a reference in the fashion world.

Their love for fashion and it’s history, gave Grégory and Louis the urge to defend a world that is betrayed by economy and is locked up.

“A new wave of young designers exits, but today, they can’t only count on their talent to achieve their goal. Textile is the second industry world wide after the pharmaceutical industry. The arrival of purely marketed brands and the frivolity of the market, forces the young creation to stay in the shadow of their talented fathers.”

Today, the re-launching of the brand “Les Garçons” is sponsored by Chantal Thomass. Like other talented designers, she found in “Les Garçons” a freshness, a passion and a sincerity that she believed in, and that she fought to keep.

“All of our clothes have many lives. We don’t want to restraint their utility. We can attend a wedding wearing a pajama by “Les Garçons” and no one would notice. You bring life to our creations.”

Les Garçons : Beauty is a form of invisible modesty.

Louis Gerin et Gregory Lamaud

DE FIL EN AIGUILLE …

Nés en 1982, Louis et Grégory se sont rencontrés en 2 000 à ESMOD. Sortis majors de leur promotion, Jean Charles de CASTELBAJAC leur remettra le prix de l’Aiguille d’Or. Ils associent alors leurs rêves : prêt à porter masculin pour Grégory, haute couture pour Louis, et créent leur marque : « Les Garçons ». Ils dessinent, conçoivent, produisent et commercialisent lingerie, homewear et sportwear pour homme. Autres volet de leurs talents, ils assurent la fonction de Directeur Artistiques pour MESSEFRANKFURT et les salons TEXWORLD. Reconnus pour leur sensibilité aux tendances, ils animent conférence et tables rondes tant à PARIS qu’à BANGKOK, FRANKFURT ou NEW YORK.

2012, Louis et Grégory relancent « Les Garçons ». La marque se singularise par son leitmotiv : la réinterprétation des classiques. Les pièces, lingerie ou couture, sont d’une apparente simplicité, d’une esthétique raffinée et d’un confort haut de gamme.

Les créations « Les Garçons » s’équilibrent entre tradition et modernité. Louis et Grégory ont été les premiers à réintroduire la dentelle, ancien attribut royal, dans la garde-robe masculine. Ils poursuivent également l’association historique du sous-vêtement et de la chemise. Leur créativité, notamment, à donné naissance à un produit depuis souvent copié : le caleçon « coupé-cousu sans couture ».

” Il y a en France un savoir-faire qui risque de se perdre, il faut absolument le sauver. Nous ne voulons pas révolutionner la mode, nous avons trop de respect pour son histoire. Nous voulons apporter, sans l’imposer, un nouveau point de vue. Nous n’accepterons pas qu’au nom de l’économie, la culture disparaisse. ”

Pour garantir le confort inégalé des sous-vêtements et homewear « les Garçons », Grégory et Louis recherchent, de part le monde, les plus belles et les plus récentes créations en matière de textile.

Fibre synthétique haute technologie, pour les maillots de bain, soie et modal pour la lingerie, telles sont les signatures matières des garçons. Les fournisseurs sont en France, en Belgique, au Portugal ou en Italie, et aussi en Chine. Chaque détail, chaque matériau sont étudiés, réfléchis et l’essentiel des développements sont exclusifs.

” Nous déplorons le départ des savoir-faire français vers l’étranger et nous espérons pouvoir un jour contribuer à les réimplanter. Nous ne transigerons jamais sur la qualité de nos produits. Nos clients se reconnaissent dans nos produits pour leur qualité et non pour une « signature ». C’est pour cela que nous refusons de logoter de  façon ostentatoire nos créations. ”

Louis et Grégory ont créé en 2009 le bureau de style « 2G2L Paris Fashion Design & Consulting », et sont devenus les plus jeunes Directeurs Artistiques du groupe Messefrankfurt. Depuis 3 ans, Ils sont l’œil, sans compromis, de l’esthétique du salon Texworld Paris.

La créativité et l’exigence des Garçons, les ont imposé sur le marché européen et mondial du textile. Cette expertise ils la déclinent  également comme tendanceurs : développement de cahier de tendances, conférences, tables rondes, pour les salon Texwolrd Paris & New York,  Heimtextile à Frankfurt. Ils  accompagnent d’autres marques européennes ou asiatiques : développement produit ou image de marque, direction artistique et organisation de shooting et évènement, concept store.

” Nous cherchons à dynamiser les salons, à les rendre plus glamour. Notre travail consiste à offrir une personnalité à ces événements … et au final, c’est un peu de nous que nous que nous leur donnons. ”

Leur franc-parler et leur refus des compromissions ont valus aux « Garçons » d’être placés à la tête du « Fre(n)sh Fashion Committee ». Association de huit marques, créée pour accompagner les jeunes créateurs dans leurs démarches, sous l’égide des Garçons, elle est devenue le fer de lance de la génération « Y » des créateurs de mode.

L’amour de la mode et de son histoire, a fait de Grégory et Louis, les défenseurs d’un univers qui se trahit par l’économie et s’étouffe par l’enfermement.

” Il existe une nouvelle vague de jeunes créateurs, mais aujourd’hui, ils ne peuvent plus compter sur leur seul talent pour réussir. Le textile est la deuxième économie mondiale après l’industrie pharmaceutique. L’arrivée de signatures purement marketing et la frilosité du marché, oblige la jeune création à rester dans l’ombre de ses talentueux ainés. ”

Aujourd’hui, la renaissance de la marque « Les Garçons » est parrainée par Chantal THOMASS. Comme d’autres couturiers confirmés, elle retrouvé chez « Les Garçons » la fraicheur, la passion et la sincérité qui l’avaient  elle-même habités et que, contre vents et marées elle a conservé.

” Chacun de nos vêtements a plusieurs vies. Nous ne voulons pas restreindre leur utilité. On peut aller à un mariage en pyjama « Les garçons », personne ne le remarquera. C’est à vous de faire vivre nos œuvres. ”

Les Garçons : la beauté est une pudeur qui s’affiche.